kupikoni's blog 💖

The search for a philosophically-constructive nimi sin

This "essay" stemmed from a question that I had recieved in response to a discussion about nimi sin overall. I have copied my lengthy answer into this as a way of displaying my conception of the language at one point in time.

Discord screenshot with an account named "loje" saying "what is constructive to the philosophy to you? or rather, how do you measure that?" in response to me saying "I'd love to encounter a nimi sin attempting to be constructive to the philosophy rather than just useful, though"

Let's start with the first assertion that I'm going to make, which is that toki pona's philosophy is dynamic and open to constant (re)interpretation. It is through this that I feel as though I can justify the non-inclusion of particular aspects of toki pona reality into the cohesive statement about toki pona's philosophy for the sake of this particular post.

Now, what do I conceive of the philosophy of toki pona as? I think I can sum it up in a few points:

These points are, in general, the things that make toki pona as effective as it is as a philosophical statement. Following this, a nimi sin that further elaborates in this direction is definitely a nimi sin pona, but it's not something that "contributes to the philosophy of the language".

In order to do that, I believe that a word would have to take these principles and attempt to establish another conclusion that is unmistakably in the spirit of toki pona, but further cultivates the very foundation of the language's philosophy.

  1. Yes, I am aware that jan, mani, meli, and mije exist. I think it is worth pointing out that even though these words do represent societal constructions (sentience, currency, and gender respectively), a massive amount of flexibility exists within their space that allows for the potential to refer to ijo that are more tangible. Furthermore, these potential conflicts are constantly discussed, and elaboration or (gradual) reinterpretation of words could prove to resolve some of them. Just as an illustrative example more than an actual suggestion, why couldn't mani refer to one's health, vitality, or wellbeing?↩